Close icon
iconBack to All News

29 Organizations Receive the Distinguished Apex Award


The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) has named 29 organizations from across the U.S. as recipients of the 2023-2024 Apex Recognition Award. These award recipients demonstrate best practices in the profession and promote patient safety by providing access to respiratory therapists to deliver their care.

Acute Care Hospital Category

  • Arkansas Children’s Hospital (third award term)
  • Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
  • Children’s Health of Orange County (third award term)
  • Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia — Respiratory Care Department (second award term)
  • ChristianaCare (third award term)
  • Emory University Hospital
  • Luminis Health, Anne Arundel Medical Center (third award term)
  • Medstar Georgetown University Hospital
  • Nemours Children’s Health — Delaware
  • North Shore University Hospital — Northwell Health (third award term)
  • New York-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital (third award term)
  • Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
  • Rush University Medical Center (fourth award year)
  • University Health System — Pediatric Respiratory Care Department
  • University of Maryland Medical Center (second award term)
  • The Valley Hospital (fourth award term)
  • VA Maryland Health Care System — Baltimore VA Medical Center
  • WellSpan York Hospital (third award term)

— 100% AARC Membership
— 100% RRT Credential

Educational Program

  • Boise State University, program #520007 (second award term)
  • Georgia State University, program #200162 (third award term)
  • Gwynedd Mercy University, program #200274
  • Loma Linda University, program #200161 (second award term)
  • The Ohio State, program #200167
  • Rush University, program #220572 (third award term)
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, program #200176 (second award term)
  • University of Missouri Respiratory Therapy Program, program #200033 (second award term)
  • University of Missouri Respiratory Therapy Program at Mercy Hospital, program #300006 (second award term)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch, School of Health Professions Department of Respiratory Care, program #200413
  • West Chester University/Bryn Mawr Hospital Respiratory Care Program, program #200313 (second award term)

— 100% Master’s Degree or Higher

The AARC Apex Recognition Award was developed in 2017 as a way for the AARC Board of Directors to recognize respiratory care departments that exhibit high quality patient care.

“Whether in the classroom with students or at the bedside with patients, respiratory care teams dedicate themselves to delivering excellent care,” said AARC President Carl Hinkson, MSc, RRT, RRT-ACCS, RRT-NPS, FAARC. “Earning the Apex Recognition award is a tremendous honor. It shows how these teams reach ambitious standards, proving to be stellar examples of the RT profession. Congratulations to our 2023-2024 Apex Recognition Award recipients.” 

The AARC is dedicated to supporting the respiratory care profession. The award program distinguishes facilities for their commitment to excellence in professional development, evidence-based care, patient safety, patient satisfaction and quality improvement. The Apex Recognition Award includes five categories for recognition: acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, home medical equipment (HME) companies, educational programs, and dedicated transport teams.


The Next Step of Your Respiratory Therapist Journey Begins Now

The AARC can help you discover your unique path and connect you with thousands of other dedicated RTs.