Close icon

Jimmy A. Young Medalists

The Jimmy A. Young Medal recognizes individuals who have made lasting and sustained contributions to the profession of respiratory care and the AARC. It is the highest honor bestowed by the AARC and in named in honor of AARC President Jimmy A. Young, who died in 1975 after serving the organization for many years.

Year Recipient
2023 Rich Kallet, MS, RRT, FAARC
2022 Douglas S. Gardenhire, EdD, RRT, RRT-NPS, FAARC
2021 Jerry Krishnan, MD, PhD
2020 Teresa A. Volsko, MBA MHHS RRT CMT-E FAARC
2019 Timothy R. Myers, MBA RRT RRT-NPS FAARC
2018 Trudy J. Watson, MA RRT FAARC
2017 Robert Chatburn, MHHS RRT-NPS FAARC
2016 John D. Hiser, MEd RRT FAARC
2015 Bill Galvin, MSEd RRT CPFT AE-C FAARC
2014 Charles G. Durbin Jr, MD FAARC
2013 Kerry George, RRT MEd FAARC
2012 Bruce K. Rubin, MD MEngr MBA FAARC
2011 Richard Branson, MSc RRT FAARC
2010 Margaret F. Traband, MEd RRT FAARC
2009 Forrest M. Bird, MD PhD ScD FAARC
2008 Robert M. Kacmarek, PhD RRT FAARC
2007 Neil R. MacIntyre, MD FAARC
2006 Dean R. Hess, PhD RRT FAARC
2005 David J. Pierson, MD FAARC
2004 Louis M. Sinopoli, EdD RRT FAARC AE-C
2003 Thomas L. Petty, MD FAARC
2002 Saverio P. Giordano, MBA RRT FAARC
2001 Richard Sheldon, MD
2000 Patrick J. Dunne, MEd RRT FAARC
1999 John R. Walton, MBA RRT FACHE
1998 John J. Marini, MD
1997 Thomas A. Barnes, EdD RRT FAARC
1996 Jerome M. Sullivan, RRT
1995 Phillip Kittredge, RRT
1994 Robert R. Weilacher, RRT
1993 H.F. Helmholz, MD
1992 Ray Masferrer, RRT
1991 David H. Eubanks, EdD RRT
1990 Vincent D. Kracum, RRT
1989 Houston R. Anderson, RRT
1988 Louise H. Julius, RRT
1988 John R. Julius, RRT
1987 Gilbert Davis, RRT
1986 Brother Roland Maher
1985 George A. Kneeland, PhD
1984 Thomas J. DeKornfeld, MD
1983 Gareth B. Gish, RRT
1982 James A. Liverett, RRT
1981 Barry A. Shapiro, MD
1980 Glen N. Gee, RRT
1979 William F. Miller, MD
1978 James Whitacre, RRT