Webcast Central


AARC Webcasts are online educational events that take place right on your computer. AARC members can attend a live event and earn free CRCE© credit or watch a past program and take a quick test for credit.

Pre-registration is required for live events. Check your email for confirmation and further instructions after registering. CRCE Content Designation is provided to assist members seeking courses to satisfy the NBRC's Continuing Competency Requirements and the requirements of some states for specific content areas. If no content designation is provided, then the course is not designated as a specialty content course and should meet the requirements for continuing education of state boards.

Protecting Lung Health During Wildfires

Timezone Time
Eastern 3:00 PM
Central 2:00 PM
Mountain 1:00 PM
Pacific 12:00 PM
Universal 8:00 PM
Category Disaster Planning Speaker John Balmes, MD, Marcy Ballman, PHD, Wayne Chrowl, RRT, and Janice Nolen Date Aug 20, 2019 2:00 PM

Wildfires pose special risks to the lung health of people in the communities you serve.  Microscopic particles found in wildfire smoke cause everything from coughing and asthma flare-ups to heart attacks and premature death, especially for those with heart and lung diseases.

The American Lung Association invites you to join a webinar for health professionals to learn about the impacts of wildfire smoke and information and resources to protect your patients during the wildfire season.

This live webinar is approved for 1.0 CRCE

Please Note- Registration and broadcast of this webinar will be hosted by the American Lung Association

Tickling or Irritating the Airways – Methacholine Challenge Testing

Timezone Time
Eastern 2:00 PM
Central 1:00 PM
Mountain 12:00 PM
Pacific 11:00 AM
Universal 7:00 PM
Category Diagnostics Speaker Kaiser Lim, MD and Carl D Mottram RRT, RPFT, FAARC Date Aug 29, 2019 1:00 PM

Respiratory therapists are vital to the accurate diagnosis of various pulmonary diseases and are the cornerstone of good pulmonary diagnostic tests. One of these tests, used to diagnose the reactivity of the airway, is the methacholine challenge test. While this test has been conducted for many years, recent guidelines and availability of medication have complicated the clinician’s ability to recommend and conduct the challenge test. This presentation will explore the indications, methods, and technical aspects of the methacholine challenge test.

This Live AARC Webcast is approved for 1.0 CRCE

Sponsored by an unrestricted educational grant from Methapharm Inc.

Methapharm

Indirect bronchoprovocation, better than a methacholine challenge?

Timezone Time
Eastern 2:00 PM
Central 1:00 PM
Mountain 12:00 PM
Pacific 11:00 AM
Universal 7:00 PM
Category Diagnostics Speaker Karina Keogh, MD Date Sep 10, 2019 1:00 PM

In this second part of this special webcast series focused on bronchoprovocation tests, the presenter will focus on indirect bronchoprovocation. Indirect bronchoprovocation testing is focused on producing reactions in the airway smooth muscle cells by stimulating airway inflammatory cells and demonstrates high specificity and relatively low sensitivity. This presentation will differentiate indirect bronchoprovocation from direct and explore the effectiveness of various types of indirect testing.

This Live Webcast is approved for 1.0 CRCE

Sponsored by an unrestricted educational grant from Methapharm Inc.

Methapharm

Nicotine Cessation Across Disciplines, A Team Approach

Timezone Time
Eastern 2:00 PM
Central 1:00 PM
Mountain 12:00 PM
Pacific 11:00 AM
Universal 7:00 PM
Category Clinical Practice Speaker Gabrielle N. Davis MPH, RRT-ACCS, NPS, CTTS, CHES Date Sep 25, 2019 1:00 PM

Nicotine cessation continues to be a major component in achieving optimal lung health. Helping our patients quit is a daily challenge, especially with the variety of nicotine delivery systems. Join the Smoking Cessation Leadership Center and the AARC for this special webinar presented by Gabrielle Davis, RRT, focused on building rapport during cessation intervention and examining biases around nicotine use. Gabrielle will also discuss motivational interviewing technique and how the respiratory therapist is vital in the nicotine cessation journey.

Join the Smoking Cessation Leadership Center at UCSF and the American Association for Respiratory Care for this collaborative webinar.

This live webinar is approved for 1.0 CRCE

Please Note- Registration and broadcast of this webinar will be hosted by the Smoking Cessation Leadership Center at UCSF