Apex is Coming, It’s Time to Prepare

 Updated: August 27, 2020

  Tags: Apex Recognition Award

Apex logo on white background

The AARC Apex Recognition Award is a premier recognition program for respiratory care departments. The 2021-2022 application period will open on Sept. 1, 2020 and will end Nov. 30, 2020; however, we’re giving you a head start on preparing for the Apex application. Apex standards and documentation requirements can be reviewed online at the AARC site. 

Start Preparing Your Apex Application

Designed to highlight RTs 

The AARC developed the Apex Recognition Award to acknowledge the significant contributions of respiratory therapists. 

In 2017, the inaugural year for the award, six institutions achieved this designation. In 2019, 16 institutions earned this designation. These institutions demonstrated best practices aligned with evidence-based medicine.

Five Categories 

There are five categories for recognition: acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, home medical equipment (HME) companies, educational programs, and dedicated transport teams. 

Reach for the Apex 

“The Apex Recognition Award demonstrates such commitment to excellence,” said Karen S. Schell, DHSc, RRT, RRT-NPS, RRT-SDS, RPFT, RPSGT, AE-C, CTTS, AARC president. “I applaud your organization for reaching for this award and providing the best possible care for our patients. I encourage all respiratory care departments and practitioners to reach for this commitment to excellence in your everyday practice.”