16 Organizations Achieve Excellence in Respiratory Care

 Updated: January 31, 2019

  Tags: Apex Recognition Award

Apex logo on white background

The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) has named 16 organizations from across the U.S. as recipients of the 2019-2020 Apex Recognition Award. These award recipients demonstrate best practices in the profession and promote patient safety by providing access to respiratory therapists to deliver their care.

Learn More About the Apex Recognition

Award Winners:

Acute Care Hospital Category

  • Anne Arundel Medical Center
  • Arkansas Children’s Hospital
  • CHOC Children’s Hospital
  • Christiana Care Health System
  • Jersey Shore University Medical Center
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
  • North Shore University Hospital
  • New York Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital
  • Piedmont Atlanta
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Valley Hospital
  • WellSpan York Hospital

Entry Level Educational Program

  • Georgia State University
  • Rush University
  • SUNY Upstate Medical University

Long Term Care Facility

  • LifeCare Hospitals of Chester County

– 100% AARC Membership
– 100% RRT Credential
– 100% Master’s Degree or Higher

The AARC Apex Recognition Award was developed in 2017 as a way for the AARC Board to recognize respiratory care departments that exhibit high-quality patient care.

“As a vital component of a well-rounded health care team, respiratory therapists work hard each day to deliver quality patient care,” said Thomas Kallstrom, MBA, RRT, FAARC, AARC Executive Director/CEO. “The specialized services and skills unique to respiratory care departments provide the necessary foundation for the total patient experience. We are thrilled to honor these organizations as Apex Recognition Award recipients. Well done and congratulations!”

The AARC is dedicated to supporting the respiratory care profession. The award program distinguishes facilities for their commitment to excellence in professional development, evidence-based care, patient safety, patient satisfaction and quality improvement. The Apex Recognition Award includes five categories for recognition: acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, home medical equipment (HME) companies, entry-level educational programs, and dedicated transport teams.