Respiratory Therapist State Licensure Information

Practice acts and respiratory therapy licensure laws contain exemption or exception sections. Be aware that different state laws may exempt different individuals, entities or services. Most licensure board websites have both the statute and regulations. It is important to know exactly what the law or regulations permit in each state. Also be aware that most licensure boards have the authority to make changes to the respiratory practice act through rules, regulations and advisory opinions, and they frequently do. To assure you have the most accurate respiratory therapist state licensure information, refer to the respiratory therapy licensure boards’ sites. A list of state licensure board and committee contacts is available.

Affiliate # of Licenses Renewal Period C.E. Hours Fees
Alabama
Licensure
2,914 Biannual 24 (Max 12 hrs self study) $100—Initial
$75—Renewal
Alaska
No License
Arizona
Licensure
4,153 Biennial 20 – 2 hours ethics. Minimum 5 Live $120—Initial
+ $100—App fee
$50—Fingerprint fee
$150—Renewal
Arkansas
Licensure
2,123 Annual 12 (Annually) $75—Initial
$40—Renewal
Temp—$35 (temps are not issued unless an emergency and at the discretion of the Exec. Dir. Per A.C.A. 17-99-305)
Late Fee—$10
State/Fed Criminal Background Checks
—$36.25
California
Licensure
23,680 Biennial 30- 3 hours board approved California Law and Professional Ethics every other renewal $300—Application fee
$300—Renewal fee
$49—Fingerprint out of state applicants
Colorado
Licensure
3,831 Biannual on 8/31 (even # yrs) None for renewal $85—Initial
$24—Renewal
Connecticut
Licensure
1,924 Annual 10 Annually.  Maximum of 5 hours self study $190—Initial
$105—Renewal
Delaware
Licensure
762 Biennial 20, Max 10 hours self study (plus additional mandatory training in recognizing abuse and domestic violence. See website) $101—Initial
$101—Renewal
District of Columbia
Licensure
800 Biennial (Jan 31 of each odd numbered yr) 16 , including 3 hrs ethics. Max 8hrs self study $254—Initial
$169—Renewal
$Variable Fee—Criminal Background Check
(CBC) Fed/State by L-1 Enrollment Services/Morpho Trust USA (CBC Fee is based on where the applicant/licensee resides)
Florida
Licensure
13,938 (11,242 RRT;2,696 CRT) Biennial 24 (Biennially).  2 hrs prevention of medical errors AND 2 hrs Florida Laws & Rules
Max 12 hours self study courses
$165—Initial ($110 lic/$50 app)
$120—Renewal
Georgia
Licensure
5,479 Biennial 30 $150—Initial
$105—Renewal
$205 Late Renewal
$400 Reinstatement
Hawaii 793 Triennial None $340—3 yrs
Idaho
Licensure
1,091 Annual or Biennial 12 $100—Initial
$65—Renewal
Illinois
Licensure
5,553 Biennial 24 (biennially) $100—Initial
$120—Renewal
Indiana
Licensure
5,240 Biennial 15 (of which 7.5 must be “live”) $50—Initial
$50—Renewal
Iowa
Licensure
1,888 Biennial 24 (Max 12 hrs self study) $75 (plus cost of background check and fingerprint packet)—Initial
$75—Renewal
Kansas
Licensure
2,182 Annual 12 (Max 6 hrs self study) $80—Initial
$75—Renewal
$72—Online Renewal
Kentucky
Licensure
3,840 Biennial 24 $150—Initial
$90—Renewal
Louisiana
Licensure
3,510 Annual 10 $125—Initial
$38—Background Check
$85——Renewal
Maine
Licensure
942 (790 RRT;152 CRT) Annual None $86 (initial includes background ck. fee)
$65—Renewal
Maryland
Licensure
2,744 Biennial (May 30 every even yr) 16 $200—Initial
$186—Renewal
Massachusetts
Licensure
3,277 Biennial 20 (Max 6 hrs self study) $260—Full
$150—Limited
$110—Renewal
Michigan 5,374 Biennial None $95—Initial
$150—Renewal (2 years)
Minnesota
Licensure
2,014 Annual 24 (Biennially) $223.35—Initial
$90—Renewal
Mississippi
Licensure
2,541 Biennial 20 $75—Initial
$100—Renewal (2 years)
Missouri
Licensure
4,460 Biennial 24 (Max 12 hrs self study) $40—Initial
$20—Renewal
Montana
Licensure
661 Annual 24 (Biennially) $100—Initial ($50 app $50 license)
$75—Renewal (annually)
$50—Inactive renewal
Nebraska
Licensure
1,551 Biennial (on 6/1 even yrs) 20 $118—Initial
$118—Renewal
Nevada
Licensure
1,753 Biennial 20 including 2 hrs in ethics $100—Application
$185—Initial Reg fee 1st yr.fi
$92.50—Initial Reg fee in 2ed yr
$185—Renewal
$75 Criminal background check
New Hampshire
Licensure
628 Biennial 12 (Biennially) $110 + $60 application fee—Initial
$110—Renewal
New Jersey
Licensure
3,450 Biennial 30- must include at least- 1 hr infection control, 1 hr patient safety/medical errors, 1 hr ethics. (Max 20 hrs self study) $125—Application
$160—Initial
$160—Renewal
New Mexico
Licensure
1,243 Biennial 20 $150—Initial
$150—Renewal
$50—Temp permit
New York
Licensure
7,848 (6,956 RRT;
882 CRT)
Triennial RRT—30 hrs (max 15 self study) CRT—24 hrs (max 12 self study) $294—Initial RRT
$154—Initial CRT
$207—Renewal RRT
$130—Renewal CRT
North Carolina
Licensure
5,197 Annual 12 (Max of 6 self study) $50—Application
$38—Criminal Background Check
$125—Initial License Fee
$75—Renewal Fee
North Dakota
Licensure
644 Annual 10 $80—RRT
$80—CRT
Ohio
Licensure
8,820 Annual—limited permits; Biennial—license
holders
Limited Permit – Employment Based
10 CE/yr
RCPs 20 CE/2yr
1 hr  ethics or OH RC law review required
$75—Initial RCP
$100—License Renewal
$20—Limited Permit
$10—Permit Renewal
Oklahoma
Licensure
2,423 Biennial 12 $100—Initial
$50—Renewal
$33.49—Background Check
Oregon
Licensure
1,917 Annual 7/yr $50—Application fee
$50—Exam Fee
$50—Licensing fee
$52—Renewal ($47 online) Includes renewal
and annual required survey
Pennsylvania
Licensure
7,379 (549 Board of Osteo Med;
6,830 Board of Med)
Biennial 30 hrs
At least 10 hrs Traditional (live)
1 hr medical ethics
1 hr patient safety
2 hrs (for renewal), 3 hrs (for initial) in child abuse recognition & reporting.
$30—Initial
$25—Renewal
Puerto Rico
Licensure
2,727 Triennial 30 $110—Initial
$60——Application
$25—Renewal
Rhode Island
Licensure
629 Biennial 12 $60—Initial
$60—Renewal
South Carolina
Licensure
2,956 Biennial 30 $120—Initial
$75—Renewal
South Dakota
Licensure
528 Biennial 20 $75—Initial
$60—Renewal
Tennessee
Licensure
4,958 (3,708 RRT;
1,250 CRT)
Biennial 12 (Annually).  Must include at least 1 hr patient safety AND  1 hr ethics.  (Max 7 hrs self study) $150——Initial & App.
$100—Renewal
$32.65—Background check
Texas
Licensure
15,869 Biennial 24- must include at least 2 hrs ethics. (Max 12 hours self study) $125—Initial
$117—Renewal
$55—Temp
$38.50—Fingerprint
Utah
Licensure
1,715 Biennial None $60—Initial
$52—Renewal
Vermont
Licensure
457 Biennial 12 hours in a 2-year period $100—Initial
$240—Renewal
Virginia
Licensure
4,344 Biennial 20 $130—Initial
$108—Renewal
Washington
Licensure
3,184 Biennial 30 (2 years) $140—Initial
$110—Renewal
$50—Temp
West Virginia
Licensure
1,864 Annual 20 (Biennially) $200—Initial/Reinstatement
$55—Nov. Renewal
$65—Dec. Renewal
Wisconsin
Licensure
2,843 Biennial June 30 on even years None $150—Initial
$141—Renewal
$170—A/O
Wyoming
Licensure
784 Annual 8 (annually) $100—Application
$40—Temp. permit/lic.
$100—Renewal (paper)
$50—Renewal (online)