Apex Recognition Award

AARC Apex Recognition Award

The AARC Apex Recognition Award is a recognition program for respiratory care departments in acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, and home medical equipment (HME) companies.

The AARC proudly recognizes the following facilities with the 2017–2018 Apex Recognition Award:

Acute Care Facilities
  • Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Piedmont Healthcare-Atlanta, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois
  • Valley Hospital, Ridgewood, New Jersey
Long-Term Care Facilities
  • LifeCare Hospitals of Chester County, West Chester, Pennsylvania

AARC developed the Apex Recognition Award to recognize the significant contribution of respiratory therapists and highlight best practices in respiratory care that are aligned with evidence-based medicine. This program will also help consumers choose healthcare facilities that promote patient safety by providing access to respiratory therapists to deliver their care.

Benefits of Recognition

Earning the Apex Recognition Award distinguishes your facility by demonstrating that it has a commitment to excellence in professional development, evidence-based care, and patient safety as well as patient satisfaction and quality improvement. Plus, it showcases the value of respiratory therapists to your organization and community.

Categories of Recognition

There are three categories for recognition: acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, and home medical equipment (HME) companies. Detailed explanations of the standards and a list of required documentation for each category are provided in the “Standards and Documentation” files below.

Acute Care Hospital

Use these resources to apply for acute care hospital recognition:

Long-Term Care Facility

Use these resources to apply for long-term care facility recognition:

Home Medical Equipment (HME) companies

Use these resources to apply for home health recognition:

Recognition Process

  1. Submit your online application and $250 application fee payment form. Note that your application progress cannot be saved when applying online. Please prepare all required documents (listed in the Standards and Documentation files above) for upload prior to beginning your application.
  2. An external reviewer with experience in your category of recognition will review your application.
  3. The reviewer submits their recommendation to the AARC.
  4. Upon approval, your organization is provided with a certificate of recognition, a press release template, and permission to use the AARC Apex Recognition Award logo on your organization’s website and social media outlets to promote the achievement.

Apex Recognition Award Deadlines and Details

The application period for the 2017–2018 AARC Apex Recognition Award is now closed. Applications that have been received will be reviewed and notification of the reviewer’s recommendation will be communicated to the applicant no later than Friday, Sept. 1, 2017.

The 2017–2018 AARC Apex Recognition Award will remain valid until Dec. 31, 2018. The next application period will be announced in the fall of 2018.

Need Help?

If you have questions about the recognition process or award, please contact the AARC at:

9425 N. MacArthur Blvd, Suite 100
Irving, TX 75063

(972) 243-2272