54th Congress

Congress Gazette

Scenes from Congress

Timothy R. Myers, BS, RRT-NPS, is sworn in as the 2009–2010 AARC president.

AARC Executive Director, Sam Giordano, MBA, RRT, FAARC, addresses attendees at the 54th International Respiratory Congress.

Karen Schell, RRT (center), from Emporia, KS, receives the Delegate of the Year Award from Toni Rodriguez (left), 2007–2008 AARC president, and Frank Salvatore, Jr., 2008 speaker of the House of Delegates.

2009–2010 AARC President Timothy R. Myers (left) and 2007–2008 AARC President Toni Rodriguez (center) receive trophy presented to the Association by the U.S. military.

David J. Pierson, MD, FAARC, delivered the 35th Donald F. Egan Memorial Lecture to a standing-room only crowd on “The Cardiorespiratory Physiology of Dinosaurs.”

Weber State University in Ogden, UT, again won first place in this year's Ventilator 5K Challenge. Their facility will receive an LTV 1150 ventilator donated by Cardinal Health. Log on to www.ARCFoundation.org for information on next year's event.

RTs experience the latest technology in the Exhibit Hall.

Almost a hundred students and faculty from East Los Angeles College and Santa Monica College are attending Congress 2008, taking in the symposia, being wowed in the Exhibit Hall, and having fun at the special events. Included is almost all of the second-year clinical students, many of the freshmen, and even a few of their next freshmen class of Fall ’09. We are glad to have them and to welcome them into the profession.

Congress-goers put on their running shoes and began Sunday morning with a trek through the streets of Anaheim during the annual Roche 5K Fun Run & Walk.