About the Education Chair

Becker, Ellen 5-6-15

Ellen Becker, PhD, RRT-NPS, RPFT, AE-C, FAARC

Ellen Becker, PhD, RRT-NPS, RPFT, AE-C, FAARC, is a Professor in the Department of Respiratory Care at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago, IL, and has been a respiratory therapist for over 35 years. She has been a certified asthma educator since 2002 and has received numerous city and state grants to fund asthma education locally.

An AARC member since 1983 and AARC Education Specialty Section member since 1992, Ellen has a long track record of service to the AARC at the local, state and national levels. She served as the chair of the AARC Educational Research Abstracts committee from 2006-2009. She was a member of the education committee with the Wisconsin Society for Respiratory Care from 1989-1995 and has served on the Lambda Beta executive board between 2011-2014. Ellen is a current member of the Chicago Asthma Consortium Board of Directors and former member of the Association of Asthm aEducators Board of Directors. She previously served as the co-chair of the New York City Asthma Partnership (NYCAP) Community Asthma Educators Committee from 2007-2009. Her publications on interprofessional education, instructional technology, and asthma education appear in the Journal of Allied Health, RESPIRATORY CARE, Nursing Clinics of North America, and the Respiratory Care Education Annual.

Ellen earned her degree in Respiratory Therapy from Madison Area Technical College in 1978 and her doctorate in adult education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1995.

Previous Chairs

Year Chair-elect/Chair
2012 to 2014 Joseph Sorbello, MSEd, RRT
2008 to 2011 Lynda T Goodfellow, EdD, RRT, AE-C, FAARC
2005 to 2008 Jeff Ward, RRT
2003 to 2005 Thomas V. Hill, PhD, RRT-NPS
2001 to 2003 Susan P. Pilbeam, MS, RRT
1999 to 2000 David Chang, EdD, RRT
1997 to 1998 Mark L. Diana, MBA, RRT
1995 to 1996 Debra J. Lierl, BS, RRT
1993 to 1994 Timothy B. Op’t Holt, EdD, RRT
1992 Linda Van Scoder, EdD, RRT
1991 Deborah L. Cullen, EdD, RRT
1989 to 1990 Carolyn O’Daniel, EdD, RRT
1987 to 1988 Timothy B. Op’t Holt, MHPE, RRT
1985 to 1986 Raymond S. Edge, EdD, RRT
1984 Mary Watson, RRT
1982 Allan B. Saposnick, RRT
1981 Patrick F. Plunkett, RRT
1980 John W. Youtsey, EdS, RRT
1978 to 1979 Patrick J. Dunne, RRT